The Affinity Theological Study Conference 2017

Booking is now open for the conference! Visit our dedicated webpage for full details and online booking. The theme is The Christian Church: Its Mission in a Post-Christian Culture. How should the church of Jesus Christ respond to the rapidly increasing hostility it faces in the Western world? What should we do when public discourse, government, education and media seek to eradicate all Christian influence? Is there any validity in the separatism of the so-called ‘Benedict option’? What does it mean to be faithful to God’s calling to his church in a generation when the moral order is changing around us?The conference brings together pastors, church leaders, theological students and others who seek to respond biblically and theologically to one of the pressing issues of our day. A team of experienced pastors and scholars will address the subject from biblical, historical and practical perspectives to inform and stimulate our corporate discussion.Please come and join us in March 2017 - the conference is open to both men and women. The speakers are: David Green, Chris Bennett, Paul Helm, Lee Gatiss, John Stevens and David McKay. Papers will be circulated to conference members in advance so that they can spend time studying the papers before the event.At the conference each speaker will introduce his paper and highlight the main issues, after which there will be time for questions and small group discussion.The final day concludes with a plenary question and answer session involving all the speakers.Carl Trueman considers the conference to have a unique format and ethos:“… the conference was probably the most helpful one I have ever attended...  True conversational theology… the discussion groups, consisting of academics and pastors, pushed everything to its implications for the local church… differences were respected but not relativised; and good humour and thoughtfulness characterised everything.”(Carl Trueman, on the 2011 Conference)See his full review.

30 September 2016